Site Down – a rant (Part 2)

Welp.

I had the site restored from backup and was just delighted to discover the restored version was a copy of the empty, deleted site. Apparently it took godaddy more than 48 hours to get to my restore request, by which time their system had re-run and overwritten the backup of my site.

So… it’s gone for good. The database is still there, so the most important stuff (community posts) remains safe, and of course I have local copies of the game itself. But there are no copies of the site files left online.

I’m going search my old desktop to see if there are any old backups from when I originally set everything up, but I’m not hopeful. Most likely I’ll have to re-build the site from scratch.

… on the bright side, though, I haven’t lost too much momentum on the development side of things. I’m continuing to overhaul the vegetation system and am making some good progress there. Even if I can’t get the site back for a while yet, I should be able to at least put up some blog posts.

Edit

And thusly the forums return to us, like a pheonix rises from the ashes!

Or a zombie arises from the grave!

Or cancer returns after you think you’re- okay I think we’re done with this simile. The forums are back!

http://www.speciesgame.com/forum

Still working on the main site, which is going to take a lot more effort to get back.

The theme I was using, bluemasters, hasn’t been updated to Drupal 8.x, and the alternative themes I was looking at just straight up don’t work for some obscure reason I haven’t been able to work out and that google isn’t giving me the answers to. The css doesn’t seem to be being applied somehow, so you end up with Times New Roman on a white background.

For the record, game development? Nowhere near as painful as website development.  So yeah, mad props and/or condolences to the masochistic bastards who do this for a living!

  1. #1 by GARY STURGESS on April 11, 2017 - 12:49 pm

    I mean, this is probably not helpful, but if the only thing left is your database, would it not be worthwhile just to take a backup of that and switch providers? It’s difficult to see how they could have failed you much more than they have, and the one bright side would seem to be that they no longer have anything of yours that would make it tricky to switch.

  2. #2 by Arie on April 11, 2017 - 1:32 pm

    Probably not a revelation, but archive.org does have a snapshot of parts of the site. At least that covers large chunks of content of the site, if not the framework.

  3. #3 by 20 char on April 11, 2017 - 2:48 pm

    Yeah, as these people put it, we should go back to the archive if it all possible… This is absolutely horrible, this company has failed you big time, the forums are just gone…. ;-;

    So many thousands of posts gone, so many wonderful games gone, so many interesting discussions gone so many pages filled with strange art, gone.

    Big question the street is it on these, why? Why would someone want to hack this website or do this kind of damage, it’s not like we left our credit card numbers all over the website, I can’t see anyone gaining monetarily from this, so why?

    What did SpeciesALRE.com ever do to them?

  4. #4 by 20 char on April 11, 2017 - 2:59 pm

    Oh and this is the most recent archive: https://web-beta.archive.org/web/20170107153938/www.speciesalre.com/forum

    Better than nothing?

  5. #5 by ququasar on April 11, 2017 - 3:16 pm

    20, read the rant posts again. All your forum posts are stored in the database, which was unaffected.

    Once I get drupal up and running, I’ll re-install phpBB and restore the forums just as they were. The only stuff we’ve lost for good are attachments and avatars.

  6. #6 by ququasar on April 11, 2017 - 7:08 pm

    AHAHAHA!

    http://www.speciesgame.com/forum

    PS: forget what I said about the forum posts being stored in the database. I totally typed out everyone’s comment history from memory.

  7. #7 by stankiem on April 15, 2017 - 9:49 am

    Good to hear! was scared for a moment went I saw site was gone

Leave a Reply

