Site Down – a rant

So how has your Saturday been? I spent all of mine on the phone trying to work out what the hell happened to my goddamn website. This is exactly how I wanted to spend my weekend. So much fun!

 

Sigh… long story short, malware infected the website. This is part of a pattern of automated attacks we’ve been experiencing this last month, which is doing wonders for my newfound motivation to work on and discuss my plans for the game. /s

 

As usual, the security system I pay for on the site disabled the problem-code before I even knew about it, and I started the process of getting the site manually cleaned and restored. I’m getting quite familiar with the process, since this is the 4th time it’s happened in the last month.

 

And then the site files were deleted. Just… gone. FFFFFFFFFFFFFFF-

 

The database is still there, so don’t panic just yet: your forum posts are safe. And I store donation records separately, so those were never in any danger. What’s gone is the site theme, images, and download files.

 

I still have no idea why or how: malware doesn’t usually delete shit.  What I do know is that my hosting company, godaddy, is making me pay through the nose to restore the site from backup, as well as charging me extra for automated backups in the future, which I thought I already had.

 

They said the restore could take up to 48 hours, and even then it’ll still be infected and require a clean, so my apologies to all my community members: the site will likely be down for a few days.

 

Rest assured I will get the site back, but for now I need to go scream into a pillow.

  1. #1 by 20 char on April 9, 2017 - 2:30 pm

    *hugs you*

    I’m sooty about the potentially useless emails :-/

  2. #2 by Tim Atkinson on April 9, 2017 - 4:33 pm

    Hang in there man! I recently discovered your simulation and honestly I think that even in it’s early stages that it’s amazing how unique and complex it is. From the few I’ve seen there has yet to be a more complex evolution simulation. I can’t imagine what a hassle repeatedly fixing all of this must be, but don’t give up; I genuinely believe you have made something truly special.

  3. #3 by Bolachinha on April 10, 2017 - 2:42 am

    This game will be in the not so far future (I hope :)) a masterpiece! Keep up the good work. Hope your motivation keeps up high!

  4. #4 by Doctor Citrus on April 10, 2017 - 5:45 am

    That’s a bummer, man. I was just thinking about re-downloading the game again today! Hopefully you’ll be able to muck through the corporate bullshit that comes with server hosting nowadays.

  5. #5 by Markitz on April 10, 2017 - 9:15 pm

    Baah! It sucks! Get it up soon!

Leave a Reply

