Don’t visit speciesgame.com

There’s a trojan malware on the site. Turns out the expensive software I bought thinking it protected it from that sort of thing… didn’t.

If you skip straight to the forums you’re most likely safe, but the homepage is infected. If you’ve visited it in the last few days, run a malware scan. (I recommend malwarebytes)

Rather than shutting it down and trying to deal with it myself (something I am not qualified for), I’ve paid for experts to do the cleanup and signed up for the extra software that *is* supposed to protect from this sort of thing.

All of the apologies!

The site should be safe again within the next day or two.

  1. #1 by Kalem on September 17, 2015 - 1:42 pm

    How do we know malwarebytes isn’t ALSO malware???

  2. #2 by ququasar on September 17, 2015 - 2:10 pm

    Make it do a captcha to prove it’s human? 😉

    All silliness aside, it’s one of the better known names for this sort of software and it served me well when I needed to kill some of the stuff that made it onto my personal computer.

Leave a Reply

