Mouse Lag

In 0.7.0, the game draws the custom mouse cursor. The mechanism it does this by is very simple: every frame, retrieve mouse position and draw the cursor sprite.

This is the simplest possible way to draw a mouse cursor in a game environment, and it has two problems (well, technically two aspects of the same problem, but I’m separating them for this post):

 • Latency: you don’t see where the cursor is, but rather where it *was* when the last frame was drawn. When the game’s running at it’s standard 30fps, this can cause the mouse to feel a little bit sluggish, but not so much you can consciously notice it (it’s only consciously noticeable if you turn the windows mouse cursor on, at which point you’ll notice that the cursor doesn’t quite keep up).

If we were making a twitch game this sluggishness might be a problem, but for a slow-paced game like Species it’s nothing major.

 • Lag. It means the mouse is susceptible to low frame rates. When there’s thousands of creatures wandering about and “every frame” means twice every few seconds, this causes it to become very difficult to control the game cursor. Factor in the latency on top of not being able to see where you’ve moved the mouse, and the game becomes practically unplayable with mouse control.

 

Artist's Rendition

Artist’s Rendition

 

This is far more a problem: Species is a game that needs to push the boundaries of what the computer running it is capable of. Having a lag-sensitive mouse is a big issue.

There’s actually an easy solution to this: use the windows cursor. It’s drawn by the operating system, not the game, so is immune to the game’s lag.

Except, of course, I want to use my custom cursor.

Don’t give me that look, the custom cursor is important. It is my right, nay duty as a game developer to hijack your mouse and make it into some ridiculously over-sized and self-indulgent custom sprite.

 

hoogeCursorMenu

(totally to scale)

 

So to achieve that, I had to redesign the cursor display function.

Describing that would be a big pile of steaming boring, so I’ll just skip to the end: rather than hiding the cursor and drawing my own, Species now instructs the windows cursor to display as a custom *.png sprite, using a similar (if slightly more complex) system to the one other programs use to display the wait cursor.

The practical upshot of this? Mouse lag immunity! The mouse now runs smoothly and without latency even when the game is drawing at slideshow speeds.

It’s not a complete fix: the UI itself is still linked to game performance, so buttons remain fairly unresponsive. I do have some idea’s on that front, and for a game like Species they might be worth exploring at a later date (I believe it should be possible, theoretically at least, to get the UI buttons and controls drawing at a consistent 30fps even if the 3d world is lagging).

But regardless of what we may or may not do in the future, 0.8.0’s mouse control is a boatload smoother and more responsive than what we had previously. Which is, by my standards, a Win.

Cheers,
Qu

,

  1. #1 by rabbitpirate on April 2, 2015 - 10:21 pm

    I just discovered your game and, even though I haven’t actually played it yet, I must say I love it. I have been wanting, and occasionally trying, to write a game like this for years but, to be honest, I lack the skills to do so (the closest I’ve really got is my own version of Dawkins’ weasel program). I think something like this is a great educational tool, plus it looks amazing and fun to play. So yeah, I can’t wait to give this game a try and see what you come up with next for it 🙂

Leave a Reply

