Particles

So, while I’ve been working on perception I’ve also added a few notable visual improvements on the side.

The most noticeable one is probably the inclusion of a proper Particle System. What are particles good for?

They're good for water splashes!

They’re good for water splashes!

They're good for weather effects!

They’re good for weather effects!

They're good for sleep icons!

They’re good for sleep icons!

They're good for horrible pollution!

They’re good for pollution!

They're good for cleansing the world in firey death!

They’re good for cleansing the world in firey death!

BE CLEANSED, FOUL ONE.

BE CLEANSED.

Oh, and speaking of horrifying death, rather than just ‘popping’ into corpses, creatures now EXPLODE INTO A RED MIST.

BECAUSE REASONS.

BECAUSE REASONS.

We’ve also got some *cool* sea ice now!

I kind of want to break my own kneecaps for that pun.

I may have to break my own kneecaps as penance for that pun.

And hilariously broken walk animations!

It's hard to see in the gif, but the torso muscles are rolling, and the limbs themselves are moving with it as well.

It’s hard to see in the gif, but the torso muscles are rolling, and the limbs themselves are moving with it as well.

Wait, did I say “hilariously broken”? I meant “better”. Better walk animations! Yes, that’s… that’s totally what I meant.

On a unrelated side note, however, don’t be surprised if there’s a lot more weird flailing from the randomly generated creatures in 0.8.0.

So, where does all that leave us? Well… perception was the last outstanding feature: these side improvements are just that: side improvements.

All the development that was actually planned for this update is done now.

So from here on out, I’m in quality assurance mode: bug fixing, adjusting the game balance, maybe creating a few “ear” facial features to go with the hearing system (I am certain my audience can’t wait to evolve creatures with faces made entirely out of ears).

Which I guess all adds up to it nearly being time to announce a release date for 0.8.0. I guess I’ll do that before the end of the week, after I’ve had a chance to verify there aren’t any major disasters waiting just around the corner.

Soon, my minions. Soon
Qu

  1. #1 by Robert Rendell on March 10, 2015 - 3:56 pm

    More like “adorable walk animations” 🙂

  2. #2 by Rubix30 on March 10, 2015 - 5:48 pm

    Woooo! 0.8.0 — I’m drooling already. Your sir, are a genius.

  3. #3 by Inarius on March 10, 2015 - 6:27 pm

    “All the development that was actually planned for this update is done now.”

    YEAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH ! I love you !

  4. #4 by imnebuddy on March 11, 2015 - 3:45 am

    Man, I love your blog posts. You’re so funny and descriptive. Keep up the good work! I look forward to the next Species Game update. 🙂

Leave a Reply

