AI Rework – Lobotomy

The Brain object in Species on the 2nd (yes, I may be lagging behind somewhat with my blogging. Call it a buffer) looked something like this:

Imagine another 20 pages or so of this...

Imagine another 20 pages or so of this…

(Okay technically that’s a picture of the Finite State Machine object, but really, who wants to look at brains).

The Brain object in Species on the 3rd looked something like this:

My god, it's full of stars.

My god, it’s full of stars.

Okay, the deletion process wasn’t quite as simple as that makes it out to be: due to the fact that I am terrible at everything ever, there was quite a bit of behavioral responsibility tied up in the FSM object that had to be carefully tweezed out and re-assigned (how is it that spellchecker accepts “tweeted” and “twee zed”, but not “tweezed”?).

This was another reason I decided to nuke the entire AI from orbit rather than attempting a salvage operation: I want the brain as decoupled as possible so can re-use bits and pieces of it.

I honestly don’t know what else yet I might their brain for, but that’s kinda the point of decoupling: I don’t know, so I should make it possible to use it in anything. One possible example might be ‘food creatures’: schools of small fish or swarms of bugs that don’t have to do much besides move around and be edible. Being able to simply and easily create a cut-down version of the creature’s brain that works in non-creatures would be a huge asset in this scenario.

Anyway, by the end of the fixing and subsequent deletion, we had a fairly successful population of vegetables: all 250 the initial creatures stopped moving, eating, breeding and, after their health ran out due to normal starvation, living.

I suppose technically it wasn’t necessary to test this repeatedly, but I had to make sure there were no other side effects to the lobotomy. And I suppose technically the maniacal laughter probably wasn’t necessary either, but if we’re going to get hung up on technicalities we’ll never get anywhere. Moving on!

Next step: Behaviour Tree Mk 1.0.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

