Rover AI Feature Creep

I played with the Rover UI while I working out exactly how I was going to apply the (now completed and working) torques to the creatures in a realistic fashion. This led to the following thought processes, presented in conversational format for readability and not because I pay heed to the voices in my head. Because I don’t. I am sane.

“I promised to do thing X with the rover AI for 0.7.0, but with the upgrades to the code it should be possible to make it do interesting things Y and Z as well. But there are a variety of sensible, practical reasons to leave those for a later version so I can get 0.7.0 out earlier. I would have to be completely insane to distract myself with additional feature creep at this point in time.”
“I make a very sensible point. Does the opposition wish to provide a counter argument?”
“DOOOIIITNAAAAAOOOOOOWW!!!”
“Yes! Now! THIS IS A PERFECTLY RATIONAL AND SANE DECISION!”

So, umm… this (click for full size if you can’t read it):

RoverUI

In addition to the promised “creatures with genetic distance to” option, we’ve now got “trees with high/low stat”, (this should be helpful for encouraging reforestation), “Species” will be good for cladogram pruning (I’d also like to add a “plus descendants” option, since it’s hardly a proper genocide if the Rovers ignore branches of the species), and most importantly, “Population when total creature count is higher/lower than” will be great for controlling population explosions and preventing mass extinctions.

It’s already mostly implemented, so this hasn’t set me back too far.

You’ll also notice that the Rovers now have randomly-chosen names. This was another small, unplanned feature. It has absolutely no effect on gameplay, and some of the names are a bit silly, but overall I’m quite happy with the addition. It gives the game as a whole a tiny bit more personality than before.

Still sane!
Qu

– – – – –

“It gets harder to not talk to yourself when there’s so many of you.”

, , ,

  1. #1 by Inarius on July 13, 2014 - 6:54 am

    Congratz for your hard work on Torque ! It’s good when it’s finished, isn’t it ?

Leave a Reply

