News

On Thursday I go in for surgery to fix my hideous facial deformity. No, the other one. No, not that one either, the other… no damn it the overbite! Yeesh.

        

I am highly optimistic the experience will be pleasant and wondrous and there will be unicorns and flying puppies and morphine (not necessarily in that order) and absolutely no horrifying painful doom.

        

Image

       

What this means for Species is an unknown quantity at this point. On the one hand, I’ll have The Month Of Pain off work, which means far more free time than I am used to. I might even manage to be productive!

        

On the other hand, I may also be sitting in silence with my jaw wired shut by some massive metal head-device, slurping milkshakes and wallowing in self pity whilst imagining the day I finally weaponise my superior brainpower and become the iron-fisted dictatorial ruler of the planet. I’ll show them, I’LL SHOW THEM ALL!!!

        

Oh great I’m having flashbacks to my childhood. That’s never a good sign. What were we talking about? Oh right, jaw surgery.

        

Yeah, I can’t promise I’ll be hugely productive. It’s possible I will be, but it’s equally possible I might just end up spending the entire month playing Kerbal Space Program and setting up a gigantic ocean base on Laythe.

 

Still, could be worse. I could be playing Minecraft.

, ,

  1. #1 by White parrot on August 13, 2013 - 4:37 am

    Haha, good luck with the post-surgery man. 🙂

  2. #2 by zequi on August 13, 2013 - 4:42 am

    Good luck, man. Just procrastinate a little and get well soon.

  3. #3 by Dan on August 13, 2013 - 7:54 am

    LOL, not minecraft, no. Play Timber and Stone.

  4. #4 by White parrot on August 15, 2013 - 11:11 pm

    How do you feel now ?

  5. #5 by HoBro on August 16, 2013 - 12:21 pm

    I know from experience that the prospect of surgery can be … well, terrifying, but you just need to use your mammalian super-power of rationality to quell the reptilian fear signals. And hurry the fuck up, would you? Some of us want to see how thus turns out.

  6. #6 by ququasar on August 18, 2013 - 8:33 am

    I’m back, sorta. Still in hospital with my face swollen up to twice it’s size, enjoying the wonders of pureed hospital food, but everything went about as well as could be expected. Should be returning home today or tomorrow.

  7. #7 by daniel on August 19, 2013 - 2:06 am

    JUst read about your operation, tough but great news it went as good as you thought 🙂 Iv enjoyed your game since early aplha stage, it is what spore should have been or scratch that, spore is a sandcorn compared to how great you come so far with species! I had surgery before with my bad back and some other stuff so i know pain and how teidous it is having pain regulary, games helps alot and kerbal is great in that way 🙂 Youshould check out the modding scene, anyways, good to see you feel okeyish and thanks for bringing us an awesome uniqe game for free !

    daniel

  8. #8 by Ben on August 19, 2013 - 12:46 pm

    Just want to say I have this type of surgery, but on both the upper and lower jaw (jaw x-rays look like a train station in my face now…) It hurts bad for about 2 weeks then you will be bored silly. Good luck and have a quick recovery!

  9. #9 by ququasar on August 24, 2013 - 10:47 am

    Hey, that’s exactly what I had. “Osteotomy of the Upper and Lower Jaw”. Neat.

Leave a Reply

