To Primordial Life

I recently noticed that the link to Primorial Life in my Inspiration post no longer works (the original site seems to have been taken down), and since I’m still getting the occasional hit from google searches related to that, and can’t actually find it on the internet anymore outside of full-version torrents (which are technically illegal even if nobody cares), I figured I’d upload the shareware copy from my hard drive:

Primordial Life 3.21, by Jason Spoffard

If you’re here looking for Primordial Life, that should get you there. But a quick word before you leave: please feel free to check out the Development Video’s and FAQ for Species while you’re here. It’s based on the same idea of seeing evolution in progress, but using a macro-scale ecosystem and semi-realistic creatures with heads and legs and tails and stuff rather than microscopic biots.

And if nothing else, there’s a chance you’ll find my slow descent into irredeemable madness entertaining.

Cheers all!
Qu.

“What does he mean “slow”? I’ve seen him go from normal conversation to “OH GOD THE SPIDERS” in under 3 seconds.”

* * * * * *

(EDIT) It’s been pointed out that the alternate link I provided doesn’t work either. Yaaay. I’ll see if I have a copy of the shareware trial version on my hard-drive somewhere: if I do, I’ll try and upload it somewhere.

In the meantime, here’s a very similar program that was recommended, and seems to be just as good:

Biogenesis

* * * * * *

(EDIT 2) Okay, I’ve uploaded my copy of the shareware/freeware/trialware/whocaresware version onto Mediafire and updated the link above. There’s nothing wrong with it but it is an executable file, so if you don’t trust me (I wouldn’t trust me, and I am me) feel free to check out Biogenesis instead. Like I said, it’s very similar.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Reprieve on November 17, 2011 - 12:19 am

    Ironically the new link doesn’t work for me.

  2. #2 by ququasar on November 17, 2011 - 7:25 am

    Silly HTML. I know what I want, why doesn’t it?

    Fixed now.

  3. #3 by MarcoDBAA on November 20, 2011 - 11:42 am

    This is an old version of Primordial Life. Besides, i cannot even find the .exe application.
    I have Primordial Life 3.21 myself. Just saying that it doesn´t work.

    But there is another relatively similar program: http://biogenesis.sourceforge.net/

    And i (as a big fan of evolution simulations myself) am really looking forward to try “Species” out . Looks very promising 🙂 Remembers me of Spore, as it should have been of course xD

    Greetings, Marco

  4. #4 by ququasar on November 21, 2011 - 10:20 am

    Blarraaeegh and other such incoherent noises of frustration… it would seen that you are correct. Google and Source Forge have failed me.

    The only versions of Primordial Life I can find on the net now are torrents, which are illegal by virtue of including serial codes… I’ll see if I can find the trial version on my machine and host it here.

    * * *

    Thanks for the vote of confidence, by the way. I’ve been meaning to “express my opinions” on Spore on this blog, too… that’s not the first time I’ve got a comment along the lines of “what Spore should have been”. Maybe I should make that my official motto? 🙂

    [is instantly sued into oblivion by EA Games]

  5. #5 by ququasar on November 22, 2011 - 6:06 pm

    Yay! updated.

Leave a Reply

